Vivekananda Library – Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Photo Credit: Sunil Konduru

Author: Rekha Vijayalakshmi

This library was a life saver for me and my siblings during the summer we spent in Hyderabad, where my father was posted.

The noon heat would cross 46 degrees centigrade, and it was stifling in the small house that my parents had rented for the vacation. It was 1983, and I was totally free after my I.C.S.E exam. My brother and sister were too young for the pressures of summer classes. We probably bugged the heck out of our mother; she was happy let us walk to the library attached to the Ramakrishna Mission nearby. (Remarkable, considering her distrust of new places.)

The British Council, which had already started downsizing, had donated their Children’s section to the Vivekananda Library, so we had plenty of books to choose from. It was also the summer that I read To Kill a Mocking Bird for the first time, but I am not sure I got it from this library. In fact, I don’t really remember anything specific that I read from there, but the sense of peace and tranquility pervasive in the place stays with me even today.

Tell us what you think

