Chester County Library and District Center – Exton, Pennsylvania

Photo Credit: Sunil Konduru

Author: Rekha Vijayalakshmi

The Exton Branch of the Chester County Library System was my first introduction to the county library system in the US, and I must say I was bowled over. I was overjoyed when they told me that I could take all the books I wanted if I showed proof of residence.

Those were our first days in a new country, so we took a lot of movies, documentaries and travel guides, in addition to fiction. Watching the story of Harriet Tubman and the Under Ground Railroad, an offbeat movie called Second Hand Lions and To Kill a Mocking Bird in all its B &W glory, started a Friday night family movie tradition in our home that lasted well into our daughter’s teen years. (After that she could watch R rated movies, while I was stuck with PG13.) 

We visited the library book sales too, bringing home entire volumes of encyclopedias that I don’t think we ever opened. It was exciting at that time, though. We lived in Exton, a very pleasant Philadelphia suburb, only for six months in 2003, and knew very few people there, but the library made the town our home.

Railroads of KP2

Tell us what you think

