Aliso Viejo Library – Aliso Viejo, California

Photo Credit: Beyond My Ken via Wikimedia Commons 

Author: Lata Hariharan

This library has been my stomping grounds especially during my kids’ childhood. Nestled in the suburban town of Aliso Viejo in Orange County, California, the library is perfect-sized and not too upscale.
The kids’ library was truly a place to be. I remember going there for the first time in 2000. I would take my 3 year old daughter while my son was in school, sit on the ground near each shelf and pull out multiple books for her to look at. She would choose a book finally and we would then sit at the nearby low table and chair and read the book together. We also took home many books-on-tape and she thoroughly enjoyed each one. She still goes there to study many times.
My son has done many a project here and relished multiple novels. And I have escaped into the world of history, romance, comedy and mystery with the help of this library. My parents have also used this library extensively.
The neighborhood cafe attached to the library has been a favorite haunt as well though it has changed ownership a few times.
One of my fond memories is also coming a few times on Friday evenings and learning to dance in the room attached to the library where free group dance was being conducted.

This will definitely be a nostalgic place for me.

Tell us what you think

